Welcome Message from the Head of Department

You are welcome to Department of Public Law, Faculty of Law, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, the premier and cradle of all departments in the Faculty. The department was established alongside the Faculty in 1962 and finally nurtured the establishment of the other three Departments in the Faculty.
Considering the fact that Faculty of Law, A.B.U, Zaria is a single awarding Degree Faculty, the department does not have any undergraduate student domiciling in the department, but however with respect to postgraduate students, the department undertakes the following programmes:
Doctor of Philosophy in Public Law (Ph.D), Master of Laws, (LLM Public Law), Master of Arts, (M.A Public Law) and Postgraduate Diploma in International Law and Diplomacy (PGDIL).
The Department is servicing over 50% of all courses in the Faculty and further renders service courses to many departments in the university.
The Department is blessed currently with three Professors of Law, two Associate Professors, three senior lecturers and many intermediate lecturers.

Dr Abubakar Isa Bappah

Head of Department

Mission and Vision

  • Mission

    To advance the frontiers of learning and break new grounds through teaching, research and the dissemination of knowledge of the highest quality; to establish and foster national and international integration, development and promotion of African traditions and cultures; to produce high-level human power and enhance capacity building through retraining, in order to meet the needs and challenges of the catchment area, Nigeria and the rest of world.

  • Vision

    Ahmadu Bello University shall be a world-class University comparable to any other, engaged in imparting contemporary knowledge, using high quality facilities and multi-disciplinary approaches, to men and women of all races as well as generating new ideas and intellectual practices relevant to the needs of its immediate community, Nigeria and the World at large.